Wednesday, May 4, 2011

WHL Awards Handed Out

The WHL has wrapped up their 2010-2011 awards presentation and there weren't too many surprises with how the hardware was handed out.

Here is the list of who the award winners were:

Scholastic Team Of The Year - Swift Current Broncos

Scholastic Player Of The Year - Collin Smith (Kamloops)

Official Of The Year - Matt Kirk (Referee)

Most Sporstmanlike Player - Tyler Johnson (Spokane)

Humanitarian Of The Year - Spencer Edwards (Moose Jaw)

Coach Of The Year - Don Nachbaur (Spokane)

Executive Of The Year - Lorne Molleken (Saskatoon)

Rookie Of The Year - Matt Dumba (Red Deer)

Goalie Of The Year - Darcy Kuemper (Red Deer)

Defenseman Of The Year - Stefan Elliott (Saskatoon)

Player Of The Year - Darcy Kuemper (Red Deer)

As I mentioned, not too many surprises. The most hotly-contested awards in my view were for MVP between Kuemper and Johsnon and for the Rookie of the Year between Dumba and Bartschi. I stand by my prediction that the award for ROTY should have gone to the Swiss import Bartschi. Sure, he was a year older, but he also had to adjust to a whole new continent.

Next up on the WHL schedule, the bantam draft tomorrow, along with the start of the finals between the Portland Winterhawks and the Kootenay Ice.

1 comment:

  1. I agree with you completely about the Rookie of the year award. Bartschi was robbed. No offense to Dumba but Bartschi plain and simple out performed not only every Rookie in the CHL (with Nail Yakupov being the exception here) but most veteran players too! Go figure! I guess if you're not canadian when it comes to hockey, you can't catch a break!